undercurrent

What’s up, posting delays?  I’ve been trying to be on the internet less outside of work.  I guess it’s working.  I finished the baby blanket I was knitting right on time for Becky’s baby shower.  Phew!  I was kind of worried about that, but I’ve been getting better about meeting crafting deadlines.  I went to a ladies’ craft night last night and got simultaneously inspired and totally intimidated by this one girl’s incredible knitting skills.  Oh man, I’m a n00b.

This weekend, O and I went to the beach.  I got a speeding ticket on the way there.  Automatic frowns.  But once I got past that and decided I still wanted to go to the beach, we had a really great time.  We went to Carolina Beach and Kure (pronounced Curie) Beach.  O got this incredible shirt:

We walked up on someone else’s beach wedding, so I’m sure they appreciated the shirt.  We also got beach-themed nick-nacks for some of O’s coworkers and a decent meal with some chatty restaurant folks.  I got an iced esspresso and the ice cubes were made out of frozen coffee, which was kind of weird, but I appreciated the thought.  We considered paddle boating around a lake, but they’d drained it that day and the girl at the booth told us it was a terrible idea.  Good work, saleslady.  After all that, I drove slowly all the way back to Chapel Hill and made it home without incident.

The next day, I got drunk off of Yuengling and white wine at the baby shower and pretended to try to learn the guitar.  Matt V. was very patient with me, but I was borderline bumbling.  Oh well.  Next time will be better.

About apheckel

one world at a time.
This entry was posted in adventure, friends of the family, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to undercurrent

  1. Elissa says:

    I miss Yuengling and east coast beaches. Not so much the speeding tickets though…

    That shirt is amazing.

    • apheckel says:

      You’ll come back east eventually. We got Higgins back! The new film industry will be based in the Outer Banks so you’ll be swimming in work and also dirty water with sub-par waves!

Leave a Reply

