’tis the season

Happy springtime!  It’s a beautiful day outside and these guys are starting to come back full force:

In the meantime, college hoops are also blooming.  My bracket is already looking crappy, but all of my final four teams are still in it.  That’s because none of them have played yet.

We did go and see William and Mary play UNC in the first round of the NIT on Tuesday.  It was fun, but as always I got way too emotionally invested.  I thought that I was going to be okay if WM lost because it was only their second time in any tournament – the first time since 1983 – and they would be greeted as winners when they went home no matter what the outcome was.  On the other hand, should UNC have lost, it would’ve been a disgrace to the campus (not that just being in the NIT as defending national champs wasn’t bad enough).  So in that way, I’m glad UNC was able to pull it out, but I was still really bummed out after the game.  WM played an awesome game, and I was glad to be there for the last Tribe basketball game ever, since they’ll be changing their mascot next year.  I’m trying to keep things in perspective. O called me the day after to remind me to be proud of them, but I was already proud.

There was also a William and Mary fan, in true William and Mary fashion, walking around the concourse, chilling with a finger in his nose, like it was his finger’s natural state.  So you know, keeping it real as always.  Even the cheerleaders were clearly inside kids.

About apheckel

one world at a time.
This entry was posted in actually. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ’tis the season

  1. Becky says:

    Thom and I have brought this picture up in conversation so many times. We both can’t stop laughing about it. I’ve said, “Welcome back, jerks.” so many times. You’re awesome.

Leave a Reply

