thanks, guys

So a couple of weeks ago, Kathryn shared this video on google reader:

It’s rare that a video comes along that so closely aligns with my interests.  Those interests being:

  • Strong female lead singers
  • Dancing literally the way that I dance in my dreams
  • Funky horns
  • Awesome hairstyles
  • Big Boi
  • Modern beats under a throwback groove
  • High concept sci-fi soul albums
  • Saddle shoes

Equally rarely a video comes along that makes me want to listen to every single available recording by an artist.  Honestly, the only other thing I can think of at the moment that gave me this feeling was the trailer for The Triplets of Belleville.  If you know me, you know this is a big deal.

Here is a bonus:

Dear Janelle, are you in the market for a soul mate?

About apheckel

one world at a time.
This entry was posted in admirable, enjoyable, good morning, lists, music opinions, video cop out. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to thanks, guys

  1. Kathryn says:

    YES. Seriously, if you have a chance to see her in concert, go. She’s amazing. And I think based in Atlanta, so your chances on that are good.

    • apheckel says:

      So apparently the closest she’s coming to me is DC on Memorial Day weekend. She’s opening for Erykah Badu (!!!!), which would be awesome, but it is also EXPENSIVE. I’ll wait for her to headline a tour, I think.

  2. Kathryn says:

    Also, I want that nurse’s clear glasses. Damn.

    • apheckel says:

      I thought about writing a rebuttal to that one guy your friend alluded to in her comment, the one who said he could not get behind neo-soul music because it lacked some sort of bullshit made up genuine sentiment that classic soul has just because it’s old, but then I decided not to because it’s not worth getting all riled up about.

  3. sarahcarter says:

    dude! i’m pretty sure that just changed my life a little bit! definitely showing the kids monday. you’re taste is impeccable and i hope i run into you soon! xoxo!

Leave a Reply

