spirited

I’m working toward that Christmas spirit.  It’s coming along nicely.  I’m normally a scrooge, but for some reason this year I’m kind of excited about it.  O and I will be spending Christmas together for the first time ever.  I’m taking the week before Christmas off for a change of pace.  I hope to be able to complete many projects in that time, both knitting and not.  Like laundry, for instance.

Also, our friendship celebration is tomorrow night!  Now, to hunt for a good mulled wine recipe.  Here is one:

3 cups water
1 cup sugar
12 cloves
2 cinnamonsticks
lemon peel
750 ml red wine
1/4 cup brandy

Simmer water with, sugar, cloves, cinnamon sticks, and peel of one lemon in a stainless steel pot for 10 minutes. Pour in the wine, heat to a “coffee temperature” (do not boil) and add brandy.

I like the idea of adding additional booze to the wine.  Maybe I’ll sub out the brandy for bourbon, though.  I kind of want to bring eggnog, too, but I don’t want everyone to just go to sleep.  I’ll see where this spirit takes me!

About apheckel

one world at a time.
This entry was posted in eats, enjoyable, friends of the family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to spirited

  1. Becky says:

    I can’t wait! I’ve Magic Erasered the shit outta the kitchen for this shindig!

  2. FQ says:

    aww, mulled wine, my favorite!

Leave a Reply

