everything okay

The last couple of years, Osiris and I have spent New Year’s Eve just going out to bars by ourselves.  I love hanging out with friends and making plans and sharing experiences, but for a night that’s already so full of expectation and anticipation, it’s always good to avoid any unnecessary anxiety about coordinating plans.  These are the things I continue to realize as I grow older.  It’s part of a series of revelations I’ve had about things I was warned of when I was younger but I just wasn’t ready to hear.  Some things you just have to learn for yourself.

I don’t generally make new year’s resolutions.  I never remember or keep them, so why punish myself?  Instead I will just try to keep my mind open to adulthood and responsibility, to do what needs to be done and try to whine less.  I have goals, naturally, but keeping strict deadlines with myself has never been a strength.  It never occurred to me to make a one-, five- or ten-year plan.  So instead I will just continue to be myself in all my creativity and ambition wrapped in laziness and exhaustion but strive to shift the balance of these characteristics.

About apheckel

one world at a time.
This entry was posted in self. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to everything okay

  1. Charlotte says:

    You’re cool.

Leave a Reply

