real deal

I’d written this long, somewhat self-loathing complainoblog about how now that I’m unemployed I’ve done nothing but sit on the couch and watch 30 Rock and eat all of the Christmas treats in the house all at once, but a) that’s not even true, and b) fuck it.  I’m really good at chilling, I mean I really excel at it, and it’s kind of surprised me how restless and bummed I’ve been about not having a job.  I’ve gotten dressed and applied for jobs every day (though not quite as uniformly or dedicatedly as I’d envisioned) and I’ve knit a couple of small things, with plans for some more ambitious things to happen soon.

I was actually fairly successful in selling a lot of my stockpile of knits before Christmas, so I’m working on replenishing my supply, but opening an Etsy store is still the plan.  I’ve come to the realization that it’s unlikely I could make a career out of only selling things online, so any advice about how else I could make a career of knitting would be great.  I really don’t want to feel like I’m ripping people off, so I tend to underprice everything, but I have such an aversion to cheap materials or shoddy craftsmanship that I might need to consider upping my prices for the more fancy customers out there.  If people can pay $75 for a gross acrylic machine-made hat from Anthropologie, they can pay $40 for a fine wool specimen hand-made by me.

I’m realizing that my vision for a successful venture (basically a warehouse full of one-of-a-kind creations that I can just pack and ship) probably isn’t feasible, so it’s time to consider other strategies.  Maybe take a class on pattern writing or wool spinning?  Visit a sheep?  Challenge myself and grow as an artist instead of getting stuck funky in an uncreative slump?  These are all things I can do and, better, I have the time to do them.

About apheckel

one world at a time.
This entry was posted in stitch. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to real deal

  1. Charlotte says:

    Let’s have a sheep farm! (I’m watching a movie called Sweetgrass about sheep herders, and it’s amazing.) I’ll tend to the sheep, and you can make yarn from their wool! We’ll have a lot of very wealthy clients who pay top dollar for everything you make, and a few extremely generous patrons who help support the farm. But we’ll also be sure to donate things and charge much less for those with little or no money, to be fair. You know, like a couture line versus a Target collaboration. But we’re not going to work with large corporations.
    I totally understand you. I’m a chill expert, too. I get pleasure out of very simple things, yet I have a lot of lofty aspirations. It’s an extremely awkward combination. I haven’t really found a balance, yet, but I’m working on it. I feel bummed about not having a job, too, even though I quit mine on purpose. Work can suck, but making money is kinda necessary in this world. Even though my etsy shop isn’t bumping, it helps. You shouldn’t be afraid to charge a lot for your wares! People charge crazy amounts for stuff way cheaper and less thoughtful than what you’d be selling, and it works for them. I feel weird charging a lot of money for secondhand clothing sometimes, but yeah, people buy new things from large corporations that were made in probably not the best of circumstances for way more, and I feel good encouraging people to reuse.
    P.S. I’ve been going through my old sketchbooks and shit for my tumblr, and I found a bunch of pages you did in one, and they’re awesome. I want to scan them. Reading them made me super sad and nostalgic, though. WHY DID I EVER LEAVE CHAPEL HILL?? Yeah, sure, Portland was awesome, but c’mon. I’m such a fucking doofus sometimes.

  2. Arlen says:

    I am really impressed with your writing skills and
    also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one today.

Leave a Reply

